Interdisciplinary Arts

Wind Instrument

Étienne Paquette

We lent an ear to the city’s whisper

Although invisible to our eyes, the urban landscape is revealed through the city’s murmur. The installation Wind Instrument by Étienne Paquette stems from a reflection on the quest for silence, in a context of ubiquitous noise. Borrowing from sculpture and generative art, this steel tubular sculpture uses the analysis of harmonic frequencies and sound levels from the environment to produce sounds in real time. Lighting effects, in tune with the progression of harmonies, enhance the sculpture’s musical activity and, inevitably, the city’s score.

Story

By Camille Bédard

It’s a balmy Thursday evening of late summer, corner Maisonneuve and Saint-Laurent. At the exit of the subway, bewildered faces emerge. This residual impersonal urban space, traversed so frequently on the way to work, from work to the show, and from the show back home, is today transformed by the monumental presence of six colorful pipes. The sound of buses, of police and ambulance sirens, and from the speakers of various festivals seems to fade out, giving way to the symphony of Wind Instrument, a fantastic organ urging passersby to slow down.

The city soundscape as we know it is most often a source of annoyance rather than pleasure and, ironically, can only be appreciated once we manage to forget it. Yet this infinitely variant soundscape comprises a range of different sounds that complement urban daily life: the bursts of laughter from children’s parties, the tinkling of glasses on a terrasse, the muffled sound of footsteps on freshly fallen snow, church bells ringing on a joyous occasion...

Étienne Paquette’s tubular installation and the sounds it generates converge to create a seemingly real wind instrument. The aesthetic ensemble hides a musical instrument software that captures surrounding sounds and analyses their harmonic levels and frequencies, transposing these into the work’s musical spectrum. Curious participants who speak, sing or shout into the small lilac pipe at the foot of the structure contribute to the various sounds produced by the machine and create a progression of chords. Through their voice, they participate in the city’s soundscape. However, nothing here is random: Wind Instrument’s partition follows the harmonies of the pentatonic scale. Can one find peace in the hustle and bustle of city life by adding to the noise rather than seeking silence?

At nightfall, this surprising musical vessel takes on an entirely different appearance. If daylight emphasizes the installation’s brightly coloured pipes, the evening lighting facilitates an understanding of its musical composition, each pipe being illuminated from inside when a sound is produced. Entranced by these lighting effects, passersby waltz to the sound of a pleasantly reinvented urban song.

Traces

Check out a few models of the piece and its evolution

A prototype was presented during La Nuit des POSSIBLES on December 8th, 2017 at the Grande Bibliothèque de Montréal.

Tests and installation of the monumental artwork

ID card

Étienne Paquette

Étienne Paquette

Étienne Paquette takes audiences on fantastic journeys with large-scale, immersive installations that borrow elements from other art forms, such as sculpture. He is also a designer, director, screenwriter and artistic director in multimedia and museum exhibition. He has increasingly taken a transdisciplinary approach to his work, experimenting with narrative to create different ways for audiences to participate in stories, all the while guided by the principle that every work has its own space, materials, technologies, concerns and experiential qualities. Over the years, Paquette has worked independently with organizations like the NFB, the McCord Stewart Museum, Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Space for Life and the Quartier des Spectacles. Notably, he is one of the creators of Beyond Ice (NFB/Canadian Museum of Nature, 2017), Light Bearers (Montreal Insectarium, 2015) and Megaphone (Moment Factory/NFB and QDS, Montreal, 2013). His work has been discussed in international magazines and scientific literature published by institutions such as the MIT Press, among others. Paquette holds a Ph.D. in Communication from UQAM.

Share

Co-production

Office national du film du Canada
Partenariat du Quartier des spectacles
LA SERRE — arts vivants

Credits for the piece

Creative and artistic director Etienne Paquette
Set designer Mélanie Crespin
Sound designer and interactivity programmer Philippe Hughes
Technical director Vincent Paquette
Music consultant and researcher Javier Asencio
Multimedia consultant Vincent Pasquier

Video

Director and Editor Joël Morin-Ben Abdallah
Camera Charlie Marois

Photos

Event Chloé Larivière and Elias Touil
Portrait Julie Armstrong-Boileau

Follow the Alternate Routes

Use headphones

Arts interdisciplinaires

Instrument à vent

Étienne Paquette

Nous avons tendu l'oreille à la rumeur de la ville

Le paysage sonore, invisible pour les yeux, se révèle à l’oreille à travers la rumeur de la ville. Instrument à vent, d’Étienne Paquette, émane d’une réflexion sur la quête du silence dans un contexte où le bruit est omniprésent. Empruntant à la sculpture et à l’art génératif, cette installation tubulaire en acier utilise l’analyse des fréquences harmoniques et des niveaux sonores de l’environnement comme éléments moteurs pour produire des sonorités en temps réel. Avec ces harmonies accompagnées d’effets de lumière, la partition de la ville n’aura jamais sonné aussi juste.

Le récit

Par Camille Bédard 

Un jeudi soir ensoleillé de fin d’été, coin de Maisonneuve et Saint-Laurent. À la sortie du métro, la stupéfaction se lit sur le visage des gens. Cet espace urbain résiduel sans personnalité, traversé si souvent du métro au boulot, du boulot au show, du show au dodo, est aujourd'hui transformé par la présence monumentale de six tuyaux colorés. Le bruit des autobus qui démarrent, des sirènes de police et d’ambulance, des haut-parleurs des nombreux festivals semblent s’estomper pour laisser place à la symphonie d’Instrument à vent, orgue fantastique qui somme les passants de ralentir. 

Le paysage sonore urbain, on s’entend, est plus souvent source de nuisance que de plaisir, et s’apprécie ironiquement lorsqu’on parvient à l’oublier. Et pourtant, ce paysage au registre infini compte une gamme de sons qui ponctuent agréablement le quotidien urbain : les éclats de rires de fêtes d’enfants, le tintement de verres sur une terrasse, les pas sourds dans la neige fraîchement tombée, l’envolée de cloches d’église lors d’un heureux événement… 

L’installation tubulaire d'Étienne Paquette et les sons qu’elle diffuse se complètent comme s’il s’agissait d’un véritable instrument à vent. Cette unité esthétique cache un instrument de musique logiciel qui capte les bruits environnants et analyse leurs niveaux et fréquences harmoniques pour les transposer dans le spectre musical de l’œuvre. Les curieux qui parlent, chantent ou crient dans le petit tuyau lilas au pied de la structure alimentent la machine à générer des sons et font évoluer une progression d'accords. Au moyen de leur voix, ils laissent une empreinte dans le paysage sonore. Toutefois, rien n'est laissé au hasard: la partition d'Instrument à vent suit les sonorités harmonieuses d’une gamme pentatonique. Peut-on apaiser l’oreille dans le tintamarre urbain en y ajoutant des sons plutôt qu’en cherchant le silence ?

À tombée de la nuit, ce paquebot musical inusité prend une toute autre allure. Si la lumière du jour fait ressortir les couleurs vives de la structure tubulaire, les éclairages visibles de nuit facilitent la compréhension de la composition musicale, chaque tuyau ayant ses propres notes. Les effets lumineux emportent les passants dans une valse, au rythme de cette agréable musique urbaine réinventée.

Les traces

Découvrez les différentes maquettes de l'œuvre et son évolution.

Un prototype fut présenté lors de l'événement La Nuit des POSSIBLES le 8 décembre 2017 à la Grande Bibliothèque de Montréal.

L'œuvre monumentale en montage en test et en montage.

Carte d'identité

Étienne Paquette

Étienne Paquette

Étienne Paquette crée des installations immersives à caractère sculptural ou monumental qui transportent les visiteurs dans un ailleurs fantastique. Il travaille également comme concepteur, scénariste, réalisateur et directeur artistique dans les domaines du multimédia et de l’exposition muséale. De plus en plus transdisciplinaire, sa pratique est faite d’explorations narratives proposant au public différentes manières de prendre part aux histoires. À chaque création son espace, ses matériaux, ses technologies, ses questions, son tissu de sensations. Au cours des dernières années, Étienne Paquette a travaillé de façon indépendante avec plusieurs organisations, comme l’ONF, le Musée McCord-Stewart, le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Espace pour la vie et le Partenariat du Quartier des spectacles. Il est notamment l’un des créateurs d’Au-delà des glaces (ONF/Musée canadien de la nature, 2017), de Porteurs de lumière (Insectarium de Montréal, 2015) et de Mégaphone (Moment Factory/ONF/QDS, Montréal, 2013). Son travail a été commenté dans des magazines internationaux et a fait l’objet de publications scientifiques, entre autres aux presses du MIT. Étienne est détenteur d’un doctorat en communication de l’UQAM.

Partage

Coproduction

Office national du film du Canada
Partenariat du Quartier des spectacles
LA SERRE — arts vivants

Crédits de l'œuvre

Conception et direction artistique Etienne Paquette
Design scénographique Mélanie Crespin
Design sonore et programmation d’interactivité Philippe Hughes
Direction technique Vincent Paquette
Consultant et recherche en musique Javier Asencio
Consultant en multimédia Vincent Pasquier 

Vidéo

Réalisation et montage Joël Morin-Ben Abdallah
Caméra Charlie Marois

Photos

Événement Chloé Larivière et Elias Touil
Portrait Julie Armstrong-Boileau

Suivez les lignes de désir

Utilisez un casque d'écoute