Literature

Objets flottants

Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve

Shawn Cotton

We reclaimed the great river, cradle of life

This dual collection includes a novel by author Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve and poetic fragments by Shawn Cotton. These texts address, directly and indirectly, Montreal as a city on an island as well as the invisible, hostile, overflowing presence of the St. Lawrence River.

Story

WE DIVE IN

Montreal is rainy this spring – nothing but rain, dreariness, river and streams overflowing, and when poet Shawn Cotton takes to the small stage of the lodge in La Fontaine Park, he forgets to remove his blue hood, which resembles a wave flowing across his curly hair. He is followed by the storyteller Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve with her clear voice, her chestnut glow, her childish face both pale and inspired. They read excerpts from their work entitled Objets flottants, the texts combined in two hand-printed booklets by the Atelier Abricot using “risography and a printing press”.

They chose to write about the river, or rather the love/hate relationship between Montrealers and the St. Lawrence River; the former wishing more immediacy, while the latter continues to evade their desires, captive in its role as an industrial highway and a refuge for floating objects.

(....) In three days, it will have been two months since my brother’s boat sank to the bottom of the river after colliding with a container ship. The investigations did not yield much; we did not find Alexandre, only debris (…). The river swallows people and spits out objects.

(Objets flottants, Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve, ARCMTL, 2017.)

Maude’s father, a skilled navigator, told her how his kayak capsized when he collided with the construction site of the future Champlain Bridge. The tale inspired Maude to write a fluid, sensitive short story. In language that is both delicate and crude, she depicts the emotional hardships of a teenager whose brother is engulfed forever by the St. Lawrence River. The story is poignant and luminous. It is an appeal to connect people with the river, and also for shared use of the river.

When Shawn was 14 or15 years old, he spent his weekends as an amateur musician playing with his band in a rehearsal studio in Pointe aux Trembles near the water. Rather than writing about nights spent smoking on the small beach until it was too late to catch the last bus, he chose a metaphor. He is an island surrounded by water, an isolated young Montreal poet who avoids movement, noise and others.

(....) I am sitting inside
a narcoleptic world
the streets unload
their cabinets of snow
in our home;
no longer worried
by the tremendous noise
coming from outside –
and the rainy days
extend across the map
of the area.

(Objets flottants, Shawn Cotton, ARCMTL, 2017.)

They read as the rain falls, and the crowd listens, huddled. Later, between drinks and discussions, Atelier Abricot is on site to print posters of life vests and lifebuoys floating on the surface of the water. We leave with our hands held tightly around the words of Shawn and Maude, emotionally charged and eager to read them in their entirety.

The river won’t defeat me. It is I who will defeat the river. Tomorrow I will be leaving for Rimouski and when I return to Montreal, it will be as one who walks on conquered land, standing upright on the deck of a ship.

(Objets flottants, Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve, ARCMTL, 2017.)

Utopia

In the Kanienke'ha (Mohawk) language, the majestic river that surrounds us is called Kaniatarowanénhne (place of the big river) or Kahrhionhwa'kó:wa (the great river); in Algonquin, Magtogoek (the walking path).

Before the Europeans arrived the river was the matrix, the road and the pantry for people who lived here.

Among those who wish to re-establish the river as a vector of life/a node/a centre of gravity is Chantal Rouleau, executive committee member responsible for water and water infrastructure for the City of Montreal. She views the river as the “cradle of life” for European settlers and “a shared resource”. Chantal Rouleau is mayor of Rivière des Prairies / Pointe aux Trembles. She entered politics with the goal of establishing a beach for residents in her borough on the northeast part of the island.

The guys on a Zodiac boat follow us to the middle of the river where boats and container ships sail at full speed regardless of the smaller craft such as kayaks, barely visible on the surface of the water. They then go back to work and abandon us as though we know what we’re doing.

writes Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve in her story “Objets flottants”. Shortly after, the kayak in her story turns back, lost on the seaway, which is just as deafening as a highway. Death looms in the distance.Yet the young hero, desperate to avenge his drowned brother, will learn to overcome the menacing river.

Mastering the river, reclaiming it from container ships, from roads and railways. Securing access, creating oases, remembering the first half of the 20th century which, although fully industrialized, abounded in beaches (up to 50 beaches, on both the South and North Shores, with at least a dozen on the periphery of the island. (

WE WANT

We want the river to become “the walking path” once more, a path for all, a shared resource. We want the frail skiffs of those who venture out on the river to feel safe.

We want beaches and oases to adorn the banks of the river like jewels on the neck of a dignified princess. After the upcoming Verdun beach and the new east-end beach, we shall continue to reclaim these shores!

We want Montreal’s underground rivers to spring forth like so many shimmering snakes. We dream of unearthing the small buried rivers flowing under the city. They would absorb runoff water before it is contaminated by the soil or obstructs the sewers. They would foster aquatic biodiversity. They would enchant young and old alike. (2)

We are Montreal.
We want to bring forth the future, today.
  1. « Montréal, un archipel coupé des eaux », Jean Décarie, Conseil régional de l’environnement, février 2005
  2. Voir l’initiative Bleue Montréal, à l’initiative du Fonds mondial pour la nature (WWF) 

Traces

Objets flottants and waterfronts access

Discover an excerpt from the double collection of poems by Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve and Shawn Cotton, edited and printed by Julien Boisseau and Catherine Ouellet-Cummings de Abricot.

ID card

Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve

Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve

Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve teaches literature and theater at the Cégep du Vieux Montréal and is part owner of Les Éditions de Ta Mère since 2011. Having studied drama and literature, she has explored various literary genres through her writing such as puppet theater, short stories, essays and novels. Her works have appeared in magazines as well as in the short story collections Le livre noir de ta mère (Éditions de Ta Mère, 2009), Maison des jeunes (Éditions de Ta Mère, 2013) and Ponts (Éditions de L’Aire, 2015), in which she co-authored a text with Noémi Schaub. She is the author of two novels, Partir de rien (Éditions de Ta Mère, 2011) and La remontée (Editions de Ta Mère, 2015).

Shawn Cotton

Shawn Cotton

Shawn Cotton is a writer and a musician dedicated to poetry, literature, bass guitar and performance. Apart from his artistic process, Cotton works at Port de Tête bookstore and edits for Le Cosmographe publishing house. He collaborated with numerous artists and directors as an interpreter, arranger, musician and author: Hanna Abd El Nour (Imagination du Monde, Volte21), Bernhari (Île-Jésus, Kryuchkova), Loui Mauffette (Dans les charbons), Skip Jensen (Spirit of the Ghost, Peine exemplaire pour ce tueur de chien), Mykalle Bielinski (Reverb) and Maxime Catellier (Nous avons marché dans la nuit de mai). He also published two poetry collections: Jonquière LSD (L’écrou, 2010), Les armes à penser (L’Oie de Cravan, on 2012) and 46 poems in magazines (Nouveau Projet, Estuaire, Liberté, Cousins de Personne, Ectropion et autres). He currently lives in Montreal where he is working on a new collection of poems. 

Share

Co-production and co-diffusion

ARCMTL
LA SERRE – arts vivants

Credits for the piece

Creation Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve and Shawn Cotton
with the participation of Julien Boisseau and Catherine Ouellet-Cummings

Video

Director and Editor Joël Morin-Ben Abdallah; 
Camera Isabelle Stachtchenko, Charlie Marois, Joel Morin-Ben Abdallah;
Sound Sophie Bédard Marcotte, Joel Morin-Ben Abdallah;
Filming was made possible thanks to the equipment provided by ON EST 10, solidarity co-op

Photos

Event Vivien Gaumand
Portraits Manon Villeneuve © Maurice Vadeboncoeur, Shawn Cotton © Frédéric Chabot

Follow the Alternate Routes

Use headphones

Littérature

Objets flottants

Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve

Shawn Cotton

Nous avons fait nôtre le fleuve immense

Ce double-recueil comprend une nouvelle de la romancière Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve et un poème en fragments de Shawn Cotton. Deux textes qui abordent, directement ou indirectement, l’insularité de Montréal et la présence invisible, hostile ou débordante du fleuve Saint-Laurent.  

Le récit

NOUS PLONGEONS

Montréal n’est que pluie, ce printemps – pluie, grisaille, fleuve et rivière qui débordent. Et lorsque le poète Shawn Cotton monte sur la petite scène du chalet du parc Lafontaine, il oublie d’enlever sa capuche bleue qui fait comme une onde au-dessus de ses cheveux bouclés. Lui succède la romancière Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve, sa voix claire, sa lumière châtaine, son visage d’enfant pâle et inspirée. Ils lisent des extraits de leurs textes, tous deux titrés Objets flottants, réunis en deux livrets imprimés de façon artisanale – « en risographie et sur presse typographique » – par l’atelier Abricot.

Ils ont choisi d’écrire sur le fleuve, ou plutôt sur le « je t’aime-moi non plus » du couple que forment les Montréalais et le Saint-Laurent, eux qui le voudraient plus immédiat, lui qui se dérobe à leur désir, captif qu’il est de son rôle de route industrielle.

Et de refuge pour conteneurs.

(....) Ça va faire deux mois dans trois jours que le bateau de mon frère a coulé dans le fleuve après s’être fait rentrer dedans par un porte-conteneurs. Les recherches n’ont pas donné grand-chose ; on n’a pas retrouvé Alexandre, juste des débris (...) Le fleuve avale les gens et recrache les choses.

(Objets flottants, Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve, ARCMTL, 2017.)

Le papa de Maude, navigateur émérite, lui a raconté qu’il avait chaviré, en kayak, en heurtant un élément de chantier du futur pont Champlain. Le récit a inspiré à Maude une nouvelle, liquide et empathique. Dans une langue délicate et crue à la fois, elle décline les états d’âme d’un ado dont le frère est englouti à jamais dans les eaux du Saint-Laurent. C’est poignant, et finalement lumineux. C’est un appel au rapprochement entre les gens et le fleuve, à la conciliation des usages.

Shawn, vers 14-15 ans, passait ses fins de semaine de musicien en herbe dans un local de répétition à Pointe-aux-Trembles, au bord de l’eau, avec son band. Il aurait pu raconter les nuits sur la petite plage, à fumer, quand il était trop tard pour attraper le dernier bus. Mais il a choisi la métaphore. L’île entourée d’eau, c’est lui : c’est son isolement de jeune poète montréalais qui fuit le mouvement, le bruit, les autres.

(....) Je suis assis dedans
le monde narcoleptique,

les rues déposent
leurs commodes de neige
chez nous ;

ne m’inquiètent plus
d’énormes bruits
venant de l’extérieur –

puis les jours pluvieux
traversent la carte
du secteur.

(Objets flottants, Shawn Cotton, ARCMTL, 2017.)

Ils lisent tandis que la pluie tombe, et la foule écoute, recueillie. Plus tard, entre bières et discussions, l’atelier Abricot imprimera sur place, à volonté, des affiches où figurent une veste de flottaison, une bouée de sauvetage, la surface de l’eau. Et nous partirons serrant entre nos mains les mots de Shawn et de Maude, émus, pressés de les lire en entier.

Le fleuve ne m’aura pas. C’est moi qui l’aurai. Demain, je vais partir à Rimouski – et quand je reviendrai à Montréal, ce sera comme on marche sur un terrain conquis, debout sur le pont d’un navire.

(Objets flottants, Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve, ARCMTL, 2017.)

L’utopie

En kanienke'ha (en mohawk), le fleuve immense qui nous entoure se nomme Kaniatarowanénhne (« Là où se trouve le grand fleuve ») ou Kahrhionhwa'kó:wa (« Le fleuve de grande taille ») ; en algonquin, Magtogoek, (« Le chemin qui marche »).

Avant l’arrivée des Européens, c’était la matrice, c’était la route, c’était le garde-manger des humains qui vivaient là.

Parmi ceux qui renouent avec cette idée du fleuve comme vecteur de vie / point nodal / centre de gravité, il y a Chantal Rouleau, ancienne responsable de l’eau et de ses infrastructures au comité exécutif de la Ville de Montréal. Elle dit que, pour les colons européens aussi, le fleuve fut un « berceau ». Elle ajoute : « le fleuve est un partage ». Chantal Rouleau est la mairesse de Rivière-des-Prairies–Pointe-aux-Trembles. Elle est entrée en politique parce qu’elle voulait créer une plage pour les habitants de l’Est.

C’est beau, d’entrer en politique pour offrir une plage aux sacrifiés de l’île. Elle a réussi. La plage est en cours d’aménagement entre la 94e et la 100e Avenue, sur la pointe orientale. Elle observe que le fleuve intéresse de plus en plus les Montréalais (« Les gens ne jettent plus leur "frigo" dans le fleuve. Ils veulent le protéger »).

Et de la même manière que les vélos ont commencé à détrôner la voiture dans la ville, les kayaks et canots s’approprient le Saint-Laurent, mettant à mal la toute-puissance des bateaux industriels. Non sans risques.

« Les gars en zodiac nous suivent jusqu’en plein milieu du fleuve, là où passent les navires, là où les porte-conteneurs filent à toute vitesse sans penser aux petites embarcations presque invisibles, comme les kayaks à la surface de l’eau, puis ils retournent vers le chantier en nous abandonnant comme si on était censés savoir quoi faire (...) »,

écrit Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve dans sa nouvelle Objets flottants. Et bientôt le kayak du récit, perdu sur cette voie maritime aussi vrombissante qu’une autoroute, se retourne, et la mort rôde. Mais le jeune héros, qui veut venger son frère noyé, finira par apprivoiser la menace liquide.  

S’approprier le fleuve, donc. Le disputer aux porte-conteneurs, aux berges routières ou ferrées. Arracher des accès, créer des oasis, se souvenir de la première moitié du 20e siècle, pourtant pleinement industrielle, quand les plages pullulaient (jusqu’à 50, en comptant les rives sud et nord ; au moins une dizaine sur les pourtours de l’île (1)).

NOUS VOULONS

Nous voulons que le fleuve soit à nouveau le « chemin qui marche », un chemin pour toutes et tous, un vecteur à partager. Nous voulons que les frêles esquifs de celles et ceux qui s’y aventurent ne se sentent pas en danger.

Nous voulons que des plages-oasis ornent ses rives comme des bijoux sur le cou d’une princesse impérieuse. Après la plage de Verdun et la plage de l’Est, poursuivons la reconquête des berges !

Nous voulons que les ruisseaux souterrains de Montréal émergent comme autant de serpents scintillants. Nous rêvons que soient mises au jour les mini-rivières enterrées, qui circulent sous le sol de la ville. Elles absorberont les eaux de ruissellement avant qu’elles n’aient eu le temps de se polluer au contact du sol et qu’elles n’encombrent les égouts. Elles favoriseront la biodiversité aquatique. Elles enchanteront petits et grands (2).  

Nous sommes Montréal. 
Nous voulons l’avenir, mais tout de suite.


1. « Montréal, un archipel coupé des eaux », Jean Décarie, Conseil régional de l'environnement, février 2005
2. Voir l'initiative Bleue Montréal, à l'initiative du Fonds mondial pour la nature (WWF)

Les traces

Objets flottants et l'accessibilité aux cours d'eau

Découvrez un extrait du double-recueil de Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve et Shawn Cotton, mis en page et imprimé par Julien Boisseau et Catherine Ouellet-Cummings de Abricot.

Carte d'identité

Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve

Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve

Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve enseigne la littérature et le théâtre au cégep du Vieux Montréal et, depuis 2011, fait partie des quatre têtes dirigeantes des Éditions de Ta Mère. À la suite de ses études universitaires en dramaturgie et en littérature, elle touche à différents genres littéraires. Après une incursion dans le monde du théâtre de marionnettes, elle publie des articles et des nouvelles dans quelques revues ainsi que dans les collectifs Le livre noir de ta mère (Éditions de Ta Mère, 2009), Maison des jeunes (Éditions de Ta Mère, 2013), dont elle assure aussi la codirection, et Ponts (Éditions de L’Aire, 2015), dans lequel elle cosigne un texte avec Noémi Schaub. Elle est l’auteure de deux romans, Partir de rien (Éditions de Ta Mère, 2011) et La remontée (Éditions de Ta Mère, 2015)

Shawn Cotton

Shawn Cotton

Shawn Cotton est un écrivain et un musicien qui se consacre à la poésie, à la littérature expérimentale, à la basse et à la performance. Outre son métier d’artiste, il travaille à la libraire Le Port de Tête et anime avec ses amis la maison d’édition Le Cosmographe. Il a collaboré avec de nombreux artistes et metteurs en scène comme interprète, arrangeur, musicien et auteur : Hanna Abd El Nour (Imagination du Monde, Volte21), Bernhari (Île-Jésus, Kryuchkova), Loui Mauffette (Dans les charbons), Skip Jensen (Spirit of the Ghost, Peine exemplaire pour ce tueur de chien), Mykalle Bielinski (Reverb) et Maxime Catellier (Nous avons marché dans la nuit de mai). Il a publié deux recueils de poèmes : Jonquière LSD (L’écrou, 2010), Les armes à penser (L’Oie de Cravan, 2012) et quelques 46 poèmes en revue (Nouveau Projet, Estuaire, LibertéCousins de Personne, Ectropion et autres). Il vit à Montréal où il travaille sur un recueil de poèmes.

Partage

Coproduction et codiffusion

ARCMTL
LA SERRE – arts vivants

Crédits de l’œuvre

Création Maude Nepveu-Villeneuve et Shawn Cotton
avec la participation de Julien Boisseau et Catherine Ouellet-Cummings

Vidéo

Réalisation et montage Joël Morin-Ben Abdallah; Caméra : Isabelle Stachtchenko, Charlie Marois, Joël Morin-Ben Abdallah;
Son Sophie Bédard Marcotte, Joël Morin-Ben Abdallah;
Le tournage a été rendu possible grâce à l'équipement de ON EST 10, coop de solidarité

Photos

Événement Vivien Gaumand
Portraits Manon Villeneuve © Maurice Vadeboncoeur, Shawn Cotton © Frédéric Chabot

Suivez les lignes de désir

Utilisez un casque d'écoute