Theater

Town Choir

Theatre Replacement

We heard everyday private moments, sung out into public space

In four cities across Canada, four singer-songwriters type out observations of the world unfolding around them. Simultaneously, a town choir, located in a public site in downtown Vancouver, receives these observations via a large screen and sings them out to the public. Drawing on patterns of relaying information that mirror Twitter or Facebook, Theatre Replacement’s Town Choir treats everyday considerations as the news. Intimate and minute details are transmitted through the ether, and then filtered through the live body in an epic choral declaration.

Story

Town Choir is the musical iteration of Theatre Replacement’s Town Criers project, a continuing series of site-oriented performances created with local collaborators in each location it travels to. The narrative of the piece takes shape through the relationship between the writers and crier/choir, and the public site. In each case, the artists are looking to take the everyday, often mundane experiences of one person, writing from home or a place that is very familiar, and then subjecting those observations to an epic transformation as they are sent to an awaiting crier or choir who then publically proclaims them to both an intentional and incidental audience.

The writers write about the time of day and what they had for breakfast. They write about their children or their pet, what books they love and where they would still like to travel to. They write about their deepest fears and desires. They sometimes speak directly to the crier or the choir — or the audience. Sometimes they send messages home. They predict what will happen one day to the very site where the audience is gathered. In the time it takes to send a text message, these private thoughts are flipped, becoming universal.

To date, the piece was performed in parks, along the shores of rivers, by the ocean, on a tiny island in a fjord, in libraries, community centres, universities and shopping malls. The artists have collaborated with writers, musicians, elders, visual artists, children, choirs, mothers and daughters, mothers and sons, grandmothers, grandfathers and best friends.

At its best, the exercise reflects a community back to itself, while at the same time sending the message out into the atmosphere, to travel through a lingering echo or hum of sound.

Traces

Town Choir and Culture

Discover the script of a performance of Town Choir here.

Discover examples of sentences composed and sent by the four writers on the theme of fears here.

ID card

Theatre Replacement

Theatre Replacement

Theatre Replacement is an ongoing collaboration between James Long and Maiko Yamamoto. Whether working together or apart, they use extended processes to create performances from intentionally simple beginnings. Their work is about a genuine attempt to coexist. Conversations, interviews and arguments collide with Yamamoto and Long's aesthetics resulting in theatrical experiences that are authentic, immediate and hopeful.

The company continues to build and tour its work, and has been presented at internationally recognized festivals and venues, including Festival TransAmériques (Montreal), Magnetic North Theatre Festival (Ottawa, Vancouver, Kitchener-Waterloo), Free Fall Festival and Canadian Stage (Toronto), High Performance Rodeo and Enbridge playRites Festival (Calgary), On the Boards (Seattle, Washington), Fusebox Festival (Austin Texas), Noorderzon Festival (Groningen, Netherlands), PAZZ Performing Arts Festival (Oldenburg, Germany), Everybody’s Spectacular and A! Festival (Reykjavik and Akureyri, Iceland), Dublin Theatre Festival and Dublin Fringe Festival (Ireland), Aarhus Festival (Denmark), INTERsection (Terni, Italy), Foreign Affairs (Berlin, Germany), Soho Rep. (New York) and Woolly Mammoth (Washington, DC).

theatrereplacement.org

Share

Co-production and co-diffusion

Presented with the PuSh International Performing Arts Festival, with support from Westbank, Roundhouse Community Arts & Recreation Centre, Vancouver Public Library, Tonnta Music, Canada Council for the Arts, City of Vancouver, BC Arts Council and the Province of British Columbia.

Credits for the piece

Theatre Replacement’s Town Choir was performed at the PuSh International Performing Arts Festival in Vancouver in January/February, 2017. The show was performed every Sunday of the Festival in a new location: at the Woodward’s Atrium, Roundhouse Community Arts & Recreation Centre, and the Vancouver Public Library Central Branch Atrium.

Creation Maiko Yamamoto and James Long
Writers Kim Barlow in Canning (Nova Scotia), Christine Fellows in Winnipeg (Manitoba), Raghu Lokanathan in Prince George (British Colombia) and Radwan Ghazi Moumneh in Montréal (Québec)
Performance The Vancouver Youth Choir, conducted by Robbie Blake
Vancouver Youth Choir Artistic Director Carrie Tennant
Composer Robbie Blake
Multimedia Designer/Operator Remy Siu
Technical Director Carey Dodge
Managing Producer Corbin Murdoch

Video

Videography Ian Barbour
Edited by Corbin Murdoch
Shot on location in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Photos

Event Emily Cooper
Portrait Tim Matheson

Follow the Alternate Routes

Use headphones

Théâtre

Town Choir

Theatre Replacement

Nous avons entendu des pensées intimes, chantées haut et fort dans l’espace public

Depuis quatre villes à travers le Canada, quatre auteurs écrivent leurs observations du monde qui les entoure. Au même moment, une chorale située dans un espace public du centre-ville de Vancouver reçoit ces réflexions par l’entremise d’un grand écran et les chante au public. S’inspirant de modèles de transmission de l’information semblables à Twitter et Facebook, l’œuvre Town Choir de Theatre Replacement aborde les considérations du quotidien comme de l’actualité. Des détails intimes et anodins sont transmis de façon presque immatérielle pour être reformulés de façon épique à travers les corps et les voix qui composent la chorale.

Le récit

Town Choir (chorale publique) est l’itération musicale du projet Town Criers (crieurs publics) de Theatre Replacement, une série de performances créées à partir d’un site particulier et développées avec des collaborateurs locaux. La trame narrative de l’œuvre prend forme à travers les relations entre les auteurs, la chorale ou le crieur ainsi que le site investi. Dans chaque cas, le projet récolte les expériences quotidiennes, souvent banales, d’une personne qui écrit de chez elle ou d’un endroit qui lui est très familier pour ensuite transformer ces observations de manière épique à travers le chant d’une chorale ou la voix d’un crieur qui s’adresse à un auditoire, dans l’espace public, à la fois averti et fortuit.

Les auteurs écrivent à propos du moment de la journée et de ce qu’ils ont mangé au déjeuner. Ils écrivent à propos de leurs enfants ou de leurs animaux de compagnie, des livres qu’ils aiment et des destinations où ils souhaiteraient voyager. Ils écrivent à propos de leurs peurs les plus profondes et de leurs désirs. Ils s’adressent parfois directement à la chorale ou au crieur, parfois au public. Ils envoient des messages à la maison. Ils prévoient ce qui arrivera un jour au site où sont rassemblés les spectateurs. Dans les quelques secondes qu’il faut pour envoyer un message texte, ces pensées de l’ordre du privé deviennent tout à coup universelles.

À ce jour, la performance a pris place dans des parcs, sur les berges de rivières, près de l’océan, sur une petite île dans un fjord, mais aussi dans des bibliothèques, des centres communautaires, des universités et des centres commerciaux. Les artistes ont collaboré avec des écrivains, des musiciens, des personnes âgées, des artistes visuels, des enfants, des chorales, des mères et leurs filles, des mères et leurs fils, des grands-mères, des grands-pères et des meilleurs amis.

Dans le meilleur des cas, l’exercice renvoie l’image d’une communauté à elle-même, tout en lançant un message dans les airs, un message sonore qui voyage comme un écho ou un murmure persistant.

Les traces

Town Choir et la culture

Découvrez le scénario d'une performance de Town Choir ici.

Découvrez un extrait des phrases composées et envoyées par les quatre auteurs sur le thème des peurs ici.

Carte d'identité

Theatre Replacement

Theatre Replacement

Le Theatre Replacement est fondé sur la collaboration continue entre James Long et Maiko Yamamoto. Qu’ils travaillent ensemble ou séparément, ils s’impliquent dans des processus de longue durée pour créer des performances à partir de prémices intentionnellement simples. Leur travail explore de réelles tentatives de coexister. Conversations, entrevues et observations s’entrechoquent avec l’esthétique de Yamamoto et Long pour créer des expériences théâtrales authentiques, immédiates et optimistes.

La compagnie continue de créer et de faire voyager ses œuvres qui ont été présentées sur des scènes et dans des festivals reconnus à l’international, notamment les Festival TransAmériques (Montréal), Magnetic North Theatre Festival (Ottawa, Vancouver, Kitchener-Waterloo), Free Fall Festival et Canadian Stage (Toronto), High Performance Rodeo et Enbridge playRites Festival (Calgary), On the Boards (Seattle, Washington), Fusebox Festival (Austin, Texas), Noorderzon Festival (Groningen, Pays-Bas), PAZZ Performing Arts Festival (Oldenburg, Allemagne), Everybody’s Spectacular et A! Festival (Reykjavik et Akureyri, Islande), Dublin Theatre Festival et Dublin Fringe Festival (Irelande), Aarhus Festival (Danemark), INTERsection (Terni, Italie), Foreign Affairs (Berlin, Allemagne), Soho Rep. (New York) et Woolly Mammoth (Washington, DC).

theatrereplacement.org

Partage

Coproduction et codiffusion

Présenté en collaboration avec PuSh International Performing Arts Festival et avec le support de Westbank, Roundhouse Community Arts & Recreation Centre, Vancouver Public Library, Tonnta Music, le Conseil des arts du Canada, la Ville de Vancouver, BC Arts Council et la Province de la Colombie-Britannique.

Crédits de l’œuvre

Town Choir de Theatre Replacement a été présenté à PuSh International Performing Arts Festival à Vancouver en janvier et février 2017. La performance s’est déroulée dans un nouveau lieu à tous les dimanches pendant le festival : l’atrium du Woodward, le Roundhouse Community Arts & Recreation Centre et l’atrium de la Vancouver Public Library Central Branch.

Conception Maiko Yamamoto et James Long
Textes Kim Barlow à Canning (Nouvelle-Écosse), Christine Fellows à Winnipeg (Manitoba), Raghu Lokanathan à Prince George (Colombie-Britannique) et Radwan Ghazi Moumneh à Montréal (Québec)
Performance Vancouver Youth Choir dirigée par Robbie Blake
Directrice artistique - Vancouver Youth Choir Carrie Tennant
Compositeur Robbie Blake
Conception multimédia Remy Siu
Directeur technique Carey Dodge
Directeur de production Corbin Murdoch

Vidéo

Vidéographie Ian Barbour
Montage Corbin Murdoch
Tourné à Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique.

Photos

Événement Emily Cooper
Portrait Tim Matheson

Suivez les lignes de désir

Utilisez un casque d'écoute