Performance

TURN

Nic Green

We marked the interaction of turnings

TURN is a performance project created by Nic Green especially for the Govan Dry Docks in Glasgow, Scotland. Across three significant evenings in the September lunar calendar, a composition for bells and voice rang out from the Docks, as the low tide turned. Bringing together radio-broadcast speech, a bespoke choir and a series of hand-cast bells made in and with the people of Govan, TURN is a unique performance of people, place and acoustic instrumentation.

Story

The Govan Graving Docks are three oval-shaped, stepped, granite basins that have been in disuse for nearly 40 years. For some in the neighbouring housing it is a regular spot for trouble, while others seem to have a sense of pride associated with these enduring remnants of a thriving shipbuilding industry.

Over the years spent living in Glasgow, I have noticed how little or rarely the river and its banks are generally accessed or enjoyed. The Clyde is still strongly associated with a lost industry, mass unemployment and poverty, leading to identity crises, a mental health epidemic and widespread drug and alcohol abuse in former shipbuilding communities like Govan. Perhaps the river, a kind of ‘black spot’ of acute sensitivity, makes it difficult to re-imagine our relationship to the waterway, like a bruise that doesn’t fade.

The geography and sociology of our river city are undeniably tangled with notions of economics, work, class and symbolically with gender. The Docks are fraught with all those associations, brought into question even more potently with news of pending ‘development’ plans. I wonder how much the under-written narratives of past-place have a hold on future people-place identities, patterns and relationships.

Nic Green

The three TURN performances coincided with the new moon, the full moon and the last day of the lunar cycle, within one lunar month. All the performances intersected with the low, turning tide.  The artist wanted to begin with something bigger than the narratives of our human industrial past, instead considering the continuing ecological heritages of the river and its wild systems; their consistency found in constant movement and transitioning.  

The project drew a number of ‘circles’ in its creation, paying attention to the macro-cycles of moon and tide. Within this it drew geographical circles in and around Govan, presenting the stories of local life cycles and change, through the voices of women celebrating their birthdays. They described the turning of their own lives over the course of an hour. 

The women’s voices were broadcast live onsite over a local radio frequency, and listened to intimately by audiences through metal speaker boxes. Their speech was accompanied by a choral score, performed live and amplified from within the belly of the dock.

The choir also rang bronze bells created especially for the performance, each dedicated to a local organization or individual, with an inscription of their choice. Using architectural acoustics, the sounds of the performance were reflected and bounced, creating echoes and resonance across the granite landscape.

I consider the use of bells and the creation of them in the community as both a memory of a past sound world  (the hammering on the metal hulls of ships), and a gesture of movement, or an invitation for reimagining the potential of place and space. I came to think of the Dock as a kind of giant mouth, offering something abstract and ever changing in a transitioning, shifting landscape. What if we can enrich the associations made with this space? What if we can unfix what we think we know?  What if we can hear other, alternative narratives to the ones we are used to, bouncing off the architecture? How might that change our sense of place and possibility?

Nic Green

Bells in themselves have a cultural quality of transition.  For centuries, we have used them to mark changes or turning points. A birthday – indeed any marking of a cycle of time – is often used to reflect on the past, to move forward and change. The dock is a monument to past industry and urban identity, shifting into a changing and wild ecosystem. This project manifested as a performance system presenting qualities of transition and impermanence. There is no trace of the events left onsite now – only recordings, photographs and testimonials of its having happened. 

I imagine it like a thin gossamer dropped softly over the prevailing narrative of a place. A gentle nod towards the potential of an alternative narrative for the present and future of a place and its people, and the idea that even things set in stone might shift unexpectedly to become something other than what they have always been.

Nic Green

Traces

Check out a few drawings that guided the conception of the project

Here are a few production steps that preceded the performances

ID card

Nic Green

Nic Green

Nic Green is an award-winning performance maker based in Glasgow, Scotland. For thirteen years she has worked across performative disciplines, with projects commissioned both nationally and internationally. Her work is varied in style and method, with forms often ‘found’ through collaborative and relational practices with people, place and material, creating mainstage dance/theatre, intimate story-telling performances for woodland environments, large-scale live sonic compositions for outdoor spaces, site-specific audio works for one audience member at a time and physical/vocal works for studio theatres, to name a few.  Her work has received several awards, commissions and recognitions: ‘Best Production’ at the Dublin Fringe, 'A Herald Angel' for Trilogy, the Adrian Howells Award for Intimate Performance, Total Theatre Award for Best Physical/Visual Theatre at the Edinburgh Fringe for Cock and Bull. She is the first recipient of the Forced Entertainment Award, in memory of Huw Chadbourn. She is the 2018 Artist in Residence at National Theatre Scotland, and teaches directing at the University of Glasgow.

Share

See another POSSIBLE

Sustainable communities

Co-production and co-diffusion

Supported by Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, Glasgow City Council, Berlin Senate Chancellery for Cultural Affairs, Arts Admin, Doors Open Days

Produced by Feral

Thanks

We worked closely with several organisations and individuals in Govan, without whom this project could not have happened. Thanks especially must be given to the Galgael Trust, which housed the development of our bronze foundry and the making of our bells. www.galgael.org

Thanks also to The Riverside Hall where our choir of ‘Ringer Singers’ rehearsed, the Pearce Institute, Govan Allsorts, Govan Housing Association, Govan C, Tara Beall, Govan Beacon, Glorious Govan, St Anthony’s Church, The Shed, Govan and Linthouse Parish, Kinning Park Parish Church, Fable Vision, Govan Fair and Govan Old.  

Thanks also goes to: Cove Park and the Jerwood Foundation, New City Visions, Callouste Gulbenkian Foundation, Glasgow Sculpture Studios, Berlin Senate Chancellery for Cultural Affairs, Ruth Olden, Buzzcut, Tam McGarvey, Norrie Anderson, Eden Jolly and Uist Corrigan at the Scottish Sculpture Workshop.

Much gratitude goes to our wonderful choir of ‘Ringer Singers’ who have collaborated on the singing of circles, and the three groups of birthday women who agreed to share their experiences as part of TURN. This performance is only made possible with their openness and participation.

Credits for the piece

Creation Nic Green

Production Feral (Jill Smith and Kathryn Boyle)

Sound Design Yas Clarke

Composition Naomi Pinnock

Production Manager Nick Millar

Spatial Design and Dramaturgy Minty Donald

Participant Coordinator Conner Milliken

Bell Maker Rosie Galloway

Print and Graphic Design After The News

Web Designer Neil Scott

Press Sharon McHendry

Front of House Management Charlotte Printer

Vidéo

Footage Progress Films

Photos

Event and portrait Julia Bauer

Follow the Alternate Routes

Use headphones

Performance

TURN

Nic Green

Nous avons marqué l’interaction des cycles

TURN est un projet de l’artiste Nic Green créé spécifiquement pour les cales sèches du chantier maritime de Govan à Glasgow en Écosse. Au cours de trois soirées marquantes du calendrier lunaire de septembre, une composition pour cloches et voix s’est élevée à travers les cales, alors que la marée basse « tournait ». Combinant une intervention diffusée à la radio, un chœur créé pour l’occasion et une série de cloches faites à la main par les habitants de la ville, TURN est une performance unique qui allie des gens autour d’un lieu et d’une instrumentation acoustique.

Le récit

Les cales sèches de Govan sont trois bassins de granit ovales, étagés et désaffectés depuis près de 40 ans. Pour certaines personnes du quartier environnant, il s’agit d’un endroit où l’on est certain de s’attirer des ennuis, tandis que d’autres ont développé une certaine fierté face à ces vestiges de l’industrie autrefois prospère de la construction navale.

Au cours des années passées à Glasgow, j’ai remarqué que les habitants n’accédaient à la rivière et à ses berges que rarement et n’en profitaient donc pas. La Clyde est toujours fortement associée à une industrie perdue, au chômage massif et à la pauvreté, tout cela ayant mené à des crises identitaires, à une épidémie de maladies mentales et à une vague d’alcoolisme et de toxicomanie répandue dans les anciennes communautés navales dont Govan fait partie. Peut-être que la rivière, une sorte de « tache noire » extrêmement sensible, nous empêche-t-elle de réinventer notre relation avec le cours d’eau, comme une blessure qui refuse de guérir.

La géographie et la sociologie de cette ville fluviale sont indéniablement interreliées aux notions d’économie, de classe et, symboliquement, de genre. Ces tensions sont entremêlées aux cales, ces dernières d’autant plus remises en cause par les plans de « développement » en cours. Je me demande à quel point le récit sous-jacent d’un lieu désuet a un impact sur les rapports identitaires, les parcours et les relations entre un lieu et sa communauté.

Nic Green

Les trois performances de TURN ont eu lieu durant un seul mois lunaire, et coïncidaient avec la nouvelle lune, la pleine lune et le dernier jour du cycle lunaire. Toutes ces performances entrecoupaient la marée basse « tournante ». L’artiste voulait débuter par quelque chose de plus important que le récit humain de notre passé industriel, en considérant plutôt l’héritage écologique continu de la rivière et ses systèmes sauvages; plus précisément la régularité qu’ils provoquent par leur constant mouvement et leur nature transitionnelle.

Ce projet a tracé plusieurs « cercles » dans sa création, avec une attention particulière pour les macrocycles de la lune et des marées. Il a inspiré également des cercles géographiques à l’intérieur et autour de Govan, en présentant des histoires locales de cycles et de changements de vie, à travers les voix de femmes célébrant leur anniversaire. Durant une heure, celles-ci ont décrit les moments décisifs, les points tournants de leur propre vie.

Les voix de ces femmes ont été diffusées sur place et en direct sur les ondes d’une radio locale, et l’auditoire a pu les entendre intimement grâce à des haut-parleurs placés dans de petits boîtiers métalliques. Leurs discours étaient accompagnés d’une chorale chantée en direct et amplifiée au cœur même des cales.

Le chœur a également sonné onze cloches de bronze créées spécifiquement pour cette performance, chacune d’entre elles consacrée à un individu ou à un organisme local, et gravée d’une inscription de leur choix. En travaillant sur l’acoustique architecturale du lieu, les sons de la performance ont rebondi pour créer des échos et résonnances à travers le paysage de granit.

J’ai considéré l’utilisation et la fabrication des cloches dans la communauté comme à la fois le souvenir d’un monde sonore passé (le martèlement des coques métalliques des bateaux) et un signe de mouvement, ou une invitation à réinventer le potentiel de l’endroit et de l’espace. J’en suis venue à voir la cale comme une énorme bouche, offrant quelque chose d’abstrait et de toujours changeant dans un paysage en évolution, en transition. Et si nous pouvions enrichir les associations créées dans cet espace? Et si nous pouvions dérégler ce que nous croyons savoir? Et si nous pouvions entendre des récits alternatifs à ceux que nous connaissons, propulsés par l’architecture? Comment cela affecterait-il notre sens de l’espace et ses possibilités?

Nic Green

Les cloches sont en soi des objets de transition culturelle. Elles ont été employées durant des siècles pour souligner les changements et les moments charnières. Un anniversaire, comme tout marqueur de cycle ou de temps, est souvent utilisé afin de réfléchir au passé, d’avancer et d’évoluer. Les cales sont le témoignage d’une ancienne industrie et d’une identité urbaine, évoluant dans un écosystème sauvage et en mouvement. Ce projet s’est manifesté tel un système de performances offrant des caractéristiques de transition et d’impermanence. Sur place, il n’existe aucune trace des événements, uniquement des enregistrements, photographies et témoignages de leur existence.

J’imagine cette trace comme un mince fil transparent, doucement déposé sur le récit actuel de l’endroit. Il s’agit d'entrevoir la possibilité d’une histoire différente pour le présent et le futur d’un lieu et des gens qui y habitent. Elle représente l’idée que même ce qui est apparemment immuable peut soudainement se transformer en quelque chose de différent, à l’inverse de ce qu’il a toujours été.

Nic Green

Les traces

Découvrez quelques schémas qui ont guidé la conception du projet

Voici quelques étapes de production qui ont précédé les performances

Carte d'identité

Nic Green

Nic Green

Nic Green est une artiste de performance primée résidant à Glasgow, en Écosse. En treize années de carrière, elle a touché à de nombreuses disciplines et s’est investie dans des projets qui lui ont été commandés à l’échelle tant nationale qu’internationale. Son travail est très diversifié, par son style et ses méthodes, sous des formes souvent découvertes à travers des activités collaboratives et relationnelles avec des gens, des endroits et des matériaux. De ces rencontres découlent du théâtre et de la danse scénique, des performances intimes de contes dans la forêt, des compositions soniques à grande échelle en direct d’espaces extérieurs, des œuvres auditives créées spécifiquement pour certains sites et pour un seul spectateur à la fois, ainsi que des œuvres physiques et vocales pour des studios et théâtres, pour ne nommer que quelques-uns de leurs dénouements artistiques. Son travail a été récompensé à maintes reprises par des prix, commissions et distinctions : le prix de la meilleure production au Dublin Fringe Festival, le prix A Herald Angel pour Trilogy, le Adrian Howells Award for Intimate Performance, le Total Theatre Award for Best Physical/Visual Theatre au Edinburgh Festival Fringe pour Cock and Bull. Elle est la première lauréate du prix Forced Entertainment, en mémoire de Huw Chadbourn. Elle a été nommée Artiste en résidence 2018 au National Theatre d’Écosse et enseigne également la mise en scène à l’Université de Glasgow.

Partage

Coproduction et codiffusion

Produit par Feral avec le soutien de la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian, du Glasgow City Council, de la Chancellerie du Sénat de Berlin aux Affaires culturelles, de Arts Admin et de Doors Open Days.

Remerciements

Nous avons travaillé en étroite collaboration avec plusieurs organismes et individus de Govan sans qui ce projet n’aurait jamais été réalisé. Nous adressons des remerciements particuliers à Galgael Trust, qui a supervisé le développement de notre fonderie de bronze et la fabrication de nos cloches [www.galgael.org].

Nous remercions également le Riverside Hall où les membres de notre chorale de chanteurs/sonneurs ont pu répéter, le Pearce Institute, le chœur Allsorts de Govan, l’association des logements de Govan, Govan C, Tara Beall, Govan Beacon, Glorious Govan, l’église Saint Anthony, le Shed, les paroisses de Govan et de Linthouse, l’église paroissiale Kinning Park, Fable Vision, la foire de Govan et Govan Old.

De plus, nous voulons remercier Cove Park et la fondation Jerwood Foundation, New City Visions, la fondation Callouste Gulbenkian, Glasgow Sculpture Studios, la Chancellerie du Sénat de Berlin aux Affaires culturelles, Ruth Olden, Buzzcut, Tam McGarvey, Norrie Anderson, Eden Jolly et Uist Corrigan au Scottish Sculpture Workshop.

Nous adressons nos remerciements au merveilleux chœur de « chanteurs-sonneurs » ayant collaboré aux cercles de chant, ainsi qu’aux trois groupes de femmes célébrant leur anniversaire qui ont accepté de partager leurs expériences dans le cadre de TURN. Cette performance a été possible grâce à leur ouverture et à leur participation.

Crédits de l'œuvre

Conception Nic Green

Production Feral (Jill Smith et Kathryn Boyle)

Conception sonore Yas Clarke

Composition Naomi Pinnock

Responsable de production Nick Millar

Aménagement de l’espace et dramaturgie Minty Donald

Coordination de participation Conner Milliken

Fabrication des cloches Rosie Galloway

Impression et conception graphique After The News

Conception Web Neil Scott

Presse Sharon McHendry

Gestion de l'accueil Charlotte Printer

Vidéo

Tournage Progress Films

Photos

Événement et portrait Julia Bauer

Suivez les lignes de désir

Utilisez un casque d'écoute