Culinary Arts

Le Pop-up Bouffe

Antonin Mousseau Rivard

We ate a meal of locally grown food

Chef Antonin Mousseau Rivard (Le Mousso Restaurant) challenged his chef friends to prepare an exclusively locavore meal during an evening on an urban agricultural farm. This entailed using products cultivated in or within 100 km of the Island of Montreal.

With this project, Mousseau reflects on economic systems by applying the local sourcing concept and offering succulent appetizers that are edible works of art.

Story

Chef Antonin Mousseau Rivard and his friends from Alaclair Ensemble organized a feast on the site of the future MIL campus at the Université de Montréal, creating an extraordinary gastronomic experience: a dinner consisting of 100% local foods.

Hidden in the midst of a building site engulfing one of the last centrally located vacant lots on the Island of Montreal and hemmed in by two railways, an improbable garden flourishes. At the foot of the eccentric MONT RÉÉL pyramid, a temporary collective design experience that evokes Mount Royal looming in the background, honeybees gather pollen in the Miel Montréal floral garden wedged between the foreman's office and the fence behind which heavy equipment relentlessly excavates the vast site.

In the distance, huge tower cranes bring building materials into the reinforced concrete skeleton of a university building under construction, while several men work in the belly of what will become a centre of knowledge destined to nourish the bright minds of future generations.

A freight train passes by, brakes squealing as it pulls several freight cars, perhaps loaded with black gold from the West to nourish our insatiable appetites at the risk of starving the planet by permanently disrupting the climate. It is followed by a passenger train, most likely bringing hundreds of people from the city where they earn their income home to their bedroom communities in the suburbs, where supper might be waiting.

Following a butterfly flitting among the beds of a flourishing collective garden, we come across a fledgling farmer harvesting huge zucchinis. "I never manage to harvest them in time! ", she sighs. She grows food in community gardens to feed people in her neighbourhood at affordable prices.

A sign that urban agriculture is increasingly popular – a television crew is busy filming in Bioma Coop's market garden a bit farther on. The garden has been wrested from the gravel of a former railroad yard. And since the seeds of the future can be sown anywhere, the Friends of the Mountain nursery stretches out before us, like the promise of urban nature ready to reassert its rights in the city and even conquer hostile terrain by decontaminating previously fertile lands, as long as we give it the chance.

An imposing presence in the middle of this jumble of equipment and installations is Le Virage, a structure made of modified steel containers. One serves as the canteen where the chef and his team are hard at work.  Mingled with the dissonant sounds of the urban soundscape is the drone of ventilation systems at a nearby factory and the rumbling of a generator. The chef steps out of his kitchen to greet the artists who have just arrived.

Time for the first round. The bar features a locally distilled gin-based cocktail made from Quebec corn, as well as local beers and even a local wine. There are no vineyards on the Island of Montreal, but there are a good number within a 100 km range of the city. No white wine this evening, however. When you drink locally made products, you have to be content with what's on offer!

The chef was busy in the kitchen during the band's sound check, firing up the grill and decorating fresh salads of the day with edible flowers as novice locavores began to arrive. They sat at tables alone or in small groups waiting for dinner to begin.

Once the food was ready, everyone lined up in single file. No prayers before digging in, but brief thanks and a passionate speech from the chef promising diners delicious meals made with locally sourced products available in Montreal or the immediate vicinity. Between the fresh vegetables and herbs grown on-site, fish caught in the St. Lawrence River plus dairy products imported, as it were, from a farm 77 kilometres from Montreal, he achieved his goal of creating a full meal consisting of local foods. "It’s a question of choice," he noted, adding that he wants to make people aware of what's possible with locally grown or produced food.

While the worker ants were taking a break or sitting down to dinner with the cicadas singing in the darkness, dessert arrived. Cotton candy made of maple sugar and foie gras - why not? Tomorrow the construction site will continue to devour the city. So what shall we eat?


By Simon Van Vliet

Utopia

A recurring dream: go back in time, back to the early 16th century and walk amidst fields of corn planted by the Iroquois on the slopes of Mount Royal in the heart of the island, before the Europeans set foot here (and then boots, stones, churches, weapons, roads, factories). To walk into a field full of squash, beans, tobacco. To see the island of yore, often wild but with farms here and there, a fertile garden flourishing between the two branches of the river, a hunting ground rich in fish and game.

And afterward? The St. Gabriel Farm established by Marguerite Bourgeoys, for starters. Cabbage, turnips, lettuce – the first vegetables planted by the colonists. Then wheat, oats, hemp and flax. The orchards of the 19th century – apples, plums, apricots! And then the famous Montreal melon, extremely popular in the early 20th century.

Century after century, wave of immigration after wave of immigration, fruit and vegetable gardening has been a constant in Montreal, despite runaway urbanization. 42% of the island's inhabitants have a tiny, small, medium or large kitchen garden (1). The champions were families from southern Europe, devoted producers of red peppers and tomatoes, fanatical proponents of intensive farming in small spaces, an inspiration in recent years for advocates of urban agriculture. The city now has almost 140,000 hectares devoted to agriculture.

On the Island of Montreal.

That is the premise for food self-sufficiency that Montreal could achieve with the support of market gardeners in Montérégie, the Eastern Townships and the Laurentians. It is a source of enjoyment and pleasure (eating what you grow is glorious), and it is a necessity (given that the environmental crisis is now our fate).


WE WANT

We love good food and prefer products that are locally grown and raised
We dream of savouring everything that grows within a 100 km radius of Montreal
We want to ardently wage our kitchen garden campaign
Let us sow where we want, when we want, and let us see those seeds of food autonomy flourish.
We want to eat what's good for us
We know that what grows in our backyard, on the balcony or in the community garden is the best.
We want to turn our gardens into the lungs of the city
Because gardens are magical: they improve air quality, reduce heat islands, protect biodiversity, absorb runoff...
We want rainbow trout and golden walleye pickerel
And perch and bass and pike from the St. Lawrence River
We want to return to an economy that is local
We believe that our gardens can also grow jobs in service to people
We want to sow beauty throughout the city
We know that gardens provide solace for the eyes, calm the soul, cover urban scars and supply a welcome breath of fresh air.

We are Montreal.
We want the future, right now.

 

(1) 2013 BIP survey

Traces

Food and Economy

ID card

Antonin Mousseau Rivard

Antonin Mousseau Rivard

At only 32, Antonin has no less than 5 renowned restaurants to his credit (Sarcelles, MAC, Le Contemporain). Having skipped out on culinary school, Antonin is a self-taught chef who pushes the limits of the kitchen: in addition to making exquisite dishes, his plates are always breathtaking in terms of colour and assembly.

Share

Co-production and co-diffusion

The Association des restaurateurs de rue du Québec
LA SERRE – arts vivants

Partner

FONDS de solidarité FTQ

Thanks

Le Virage MTL
La coopérative Bioma
Alaclair Ensemble

Credits for the piece

Creation Antonin Mousseau Rivard

Video

Director and Editor Joël Morin-Ben Abdallah; 
Camera Isabelle Stachtchenko, Charlie Marois, Joël Morin-Ben Abdallah;
Sound Sophie Bédard Marcotte, Joël Morin-Ben Abdallah;
Filming was made possible thanks to the equipment provided by ON EST 10, solidarity co-op

Photos

Event Maxim Paré Fortin
Portrait Bénédicte Brocard

Follow the Alternate Routes

Use headphones

Arts culinaires

Le Pop-up Bouffe

Antonin Mousseau Rivard

Nous avons dégusté ce qui pousse sous nos pas

Le chef Antonin Mousseau Rivard (restaurant Le Mousso) a lancé un défi à ses amis chefs : le temps d’une soirée au cœur d’un site d’agriculture urbaine : préparer un repas collectif exclusivement locavore, c’est-à-dire composé d’aliments cultivés sur l’île de Montréal ou à une distance de moins de 100 km. Mousseau aborde ainsi le thème de l’économie en appliquant les principes du circuit court, à travers des bouchées savoureuses conçues comme des œuvres d’art.

Le récit

Le chef cuisinier Antonin Mousseau Rivard et ses amis du groupe Alaclair Ensemble festoient sur le site du futur campus MIL de l’Université de Montréal pour une expérience gastronomique hors norme : un repas concocté à 100 % d’aliments locaux.

Au cœur du chantier qui dévore l’un des derniers terrains vacants au centre de l’île de Montréal, enclavé entre deux voies de chemin de fer, un improbable jardin nourricier se cache. Au pied de l’étrange pyramide du MONT RÉÉL – une expérience de design collectif éphémère évoquant le mont Royal qui se profile au loin –, les abeilles butinent dans le jardin floral de Miel Montréal coincé entre le bureau du surintendant de chantier et les clôtures métalliques derrière lesquelles s’active la machinerie lourde qui terrasse sans relâche le vaste terrain vague.

À l’horizon, des grues immenses se penchent sur le squelette de béton armé d’un pavillon universitaire en construction, tandis que des ouvriers s’activent dans les entrailles de ce qui deviendra un pôle de savoir destiné à nourrir les esprits avides de connaissances de la génération montante.

Un train de marchandises passe par ici, grinçant des freins, tirant quelques wagons-citernes usés, possiblement chargés de l’or noir de l’Ouest qui nourrit l’appétit insatiable des marchés au risque d’affamer la planète en troublant le climat. Un train de passagers passe par là, ramenant probablement quelques centaines de personnes de la ville gagne-pain vers la banlieue-dortoir où, qui sait, le souper les attend peut-être déjà.

Suivant un papillon virevoltant au hasard entre les rangs d’un jardin collectif bien fourni, nous tombons sur une agricultrice en herbe qui récolte des courgettes énormes. « J’arrive jamais à les cueillir à temps! » soupire la jardinière qui cultive dans ces potagers communautaires de quoi remplir le ventre des gens de son quartier sans leur vider les poches.

Signe que l’agriculture urbaine est dans l’air du temps, une équipe de télévision s’affaire à tourner un peu plus loin dans le jardin maraîcher de la coop Bioma, arraché au gravier de l’ancienne emprise ferroviaire. Et comme on peut semer l’avenir n’importe où, une pépinière des amis de la montagne s’étend là, à nos pieds, comme la promesse d’une nature urbaine prête à reprendre ses droits sur la ville et à reconquérir même les terrains les plus hostiles, décontaminant au passage des terres jadis fertiles, pour autant qu’on lui en donne la chance.

On tourne les yeux pour trouver, trônant au milieu de ces installations hétéroclites, Le Virage, une structure formée de conteneurs modifiés, dont l’un accueille la cantine où l’équipe du chef est déjà à l’œuvre. Au son, caractéristiquement désaccordé, d’un piano urbain, se mêlent le bourdonnement des systèmes de ventilation de l’usine avoisinante et le ronronnement de la génératrice. Le chef sort de sa cuisine le temps de saluer les artistes qui arrivent.

C’est l’heure de la première tournée. Au bar, on offre un cocktail à base de gin distillé localement à partir de grains de maïs du Québec. On sert aussi de la bière locale et même du vin local. Il ne se trouve pas de vignobles sur l’île de Montréal, mais il s’en trouve bon nombre à moins de 100 kilomètres. Pas de vin blanc ce soir, par contre. Quand on boit local, il faut se contenter de ce qu’on a!

Pendant le test de son du groupe, le chef s’active dans la cuisine, décorant de fleurs comestibles ses salades fraîches du jour. Alors que les braises fument encore doucement sous le grill, les apprentis locavores arrivent et s’attablent, seuls ou en petits groupes, en attendant qu’on sorte les plats.

Ça y est, la table est mise. On se met en file indienne. Pas de prières avant le repas, mais des remerciements et un discours enflammé du chef qui promet de nous régaler avec les produits disponibles à Montréal ou dans les environs immédiats. Entre les légumes frais et les herbes cueillies sur place, le poisson issu de la pêche sportive sur le Saint-Laurent et les produits laitiers importés, si l’on peut dire, d’une ferme située à 77 kilomètres de Montréal, le chef a tenu son pari de nous concocter un repas complet à base d’aliments locaux. « C’est une question de choix », insiste-t-il en précisant que, sans chercher à être moralisateur, il veut éveiller nos consciences à ce possible locavore.

Alors que les fourmis ouvrières sont au repos (ou au repas) et que les cigales chantent dans la pénombre, on sert le dessert. Barbe à papa au sucre d’érable et foie gras, pourquoi pas? Demain, le chantier continuera à dévorer la ville. Et nous, que mangerons-nous?


Texte de Simon Van Vliet

L'utopie

Rêve récurrent : remonter le temps jusqu’au début du 16e siècle et marcher le long des plants de maïs iroquoiens sur les flancs du mont Royal, au cœur de l’île, avant que les Européens n’y mettent les pieds (puis les bottes, les pierres, les églises, les armes, les routes, les usines). Bifurquer vers un champ de courges, de fèves, puis de tabac.

Voir l’île d’avant, sauvage souvent, cultivée en partie, garde-manger fertile s’épanouissant entre les bras du fleuve, poissons abondants, gibier bondissant.

Et après ? La ferme Saint-Gabriel de Marguerite Bourgeoys, pour commencer. Le chou, la laitue, le navet, premiers légumes plantés par les colons. Puis le blé, l’avoine, le chanvre, le lin. Les vergers au 19e siècle – pommes, prunes, abricots ! Et le melon de Montréal, célèbre au début du 20e siècle... 

Siècle après siècle, vague d’immigration après vague d’immigration, on n’a jamais cessé de cultiver à Montréal. Malgré l’urbanisation galopante. 42 % des habitants de l’île ont un mini, petit, moyen ou grand potager (1). Les champions sont les familles originaires d’Europe du Sud, des stakhanovistes du poivron rouge et de la tomate en grappes, des forcenés de la culture intensive sur petite surface. Les ont rejoints, ces dernières années, les tenants de l’agriculture urbaine. On compte aujourd’hui près de 140 000 hectares consacrés à l’agriculture.

Sur l’île.

Ce sont les prémisses d’une autosuffisance alimentaire à laquelle Montréal pourrait prétendre, soutenue par les maraîchers de la Montérégie, de l’Estrie et des Laurentides.

C’est une jouissance (parce que manger ce qu’on a fait pousser est inouï), c’est une nécessité (parce que la crise environnementale est désormais notre lot).


NOUS VOULONS

Nous sommes gourmands et locavores. Nous rêvons de déguster tout ce qui pousse à moins de cent kilomètres autour de nous.
Nous voulons mener avec ardeur notre guérilla potagère. Laissez-nous semer où nous voulons, quand nous voulons ; laissez-nous voir pousser les germes de notre autosuffisance.
Nous voulons manger ce qui est bon pour nous. Nous savons que ce qui pousse dans la cour arrière, sur le balcon ou dans le jardin communautaire est ce qu’il y a de meilleur.
Nous voulons faire de nos jardins les poumons de la ville. Parce que les jardins sont magiques : ils améliorent la qualité de l’air, réduisent les îlots de chaleur, protègent la biodiversité, absorbent les eaux de ruissellement...
Nous voulons des truites arc-en-ciel et des dorés dorés. Et des perchaudes, des achigans, des brochets du Saint-Laurent.
Nous voulons relocaliser l’économie. Nous croyons que dans nos jardins peuvent germer des emplois au service des humains.
Nous voulons, partout dans la ville, semer la beauté. Nous savons que les jardins sont un baume pour les yeux, une douceur pour l’âme, un pansement sur les cicatrices urbaines, une respiration.

Nous sommes Montréal.
Nous voulons l’avenir, mais tout de suite.

(1) Sondage BIP, 2013

Traces

La bouffe et l'économie

Carte d'identité

Antonin Mousseau Rivard

Antonin Mousseau Rivard

Chef de 32 ans, Antonin a fait ses armes dès son plus jeune âge : à son actif pas moins de 5 restaurants de renom (Sarcelles, MAC, Le Contemporain, etc…). Sans avoir fait d’école culinaire, Antonin est un chef autodidacte qui repousse les limites de la cuisine : en plus de faire des plats exquis, ses assiettes sont époustouflantes dans le choix des couleurs et de l’assemblage.

Partage

Découvrez un autre POSSIBLE

Le changement passe aussi par la culture

Coproduction et codiffusion

L’Association des restaurateurs de rue du Québec
LA SERRE – arts vivants

Partenaire

FONDS de solidarité FTQ

Remerciements

Le Virage MTL
La coopérative Bioma
Alaclair Ensemble

Crédits de l’œuvre

Création Antonin Mousseau Rivard

Vidéo

Réalisation et montage Joël Morin-Ben Abdallah;
Caméra Isabelle Stachtchenko, Charlie Marois, Joël Morin-Ben Abdallah;
Son Sophie Bédard Marcotte, Joël Morin-Ben Abdallah;
Le tournage a été rendu possible grâce à l'équipement de ON EST 10, coop de solidarité

Photos

Événement Maxim Paré Fortin
Portrait Bénédicte Brocard

Suivez les lignes de désir

Utilisez un casque d'écoute